



No. 39/2010 9-21-2010

International honours are seeking prize-winners! Nominations for eight IIW awards in 2011 will still be possible until the end of October

DÜSSELDORF – Which personality has rendered outstanding services to joining technology at the international level in the course of 2010? Whose work was pioneering and who has made a decisive contribution to the further development of international cooperative work relating to joining technology? As the German member of IIW – International Institute of Welding, DVS – German Welding Society is entitled to nominate potential candidates from Germany for the presentation of IIW awards. A jury will determine the winners who will be honoured during the opening ceremony of the IIW Annual Assembly 2011 in Chennai/India. **Until October 31, 2010**, DVS will be happy to receive nomination suggestions for the following eight IIW awards:

1. Yoshiaki Arata Award

This mark of distinction focuses on the fundamental research into welding and into processes related to it. Every year, the Yoshiaki Arata Award is conferred on a personality whose fundamental research and findings have contributed to the further development of welding and the allied processes in an exceptional way.

2. Henry Granjon Prize

The Henry Granjon Prize is an annual competition for research papers on the subject of welding and the allied processes. In order to arouse the enthusiasm of young up-and-coming scientists for joining technology, Master's or doctoral theses or comparable research papers from industry can be submitted in four categories: 1. Joining and Fabrication Technology, 2. Materials Behaviour and Weldability, 3. Design and Structural Integrity as well as 4. Human-Related Subjects.

3. Evgeny Paton Prize

A personality who has lent his/her support to joining technology to a particular extent throughout his/her life is distinguished with the Evgeny Paton Prize. The prerequisite is that the person has thus made a significant contribution to the research into and development of technologies, materials or installations relating to joining technology.

1/...

Ihre Ansprechpartnerin beim DVS:

Dipl.-Kulturwiss. Uta Tschakert, Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, DVS e. V., Aachener Straße 172, 40223 Düsseldorf Telefon: +49(0)2 11/15 91-304, Telefax: +49(0)2 11/15 91-200, E-Mail: uta.tschakert@dvs-hg.de, Internet: www.die-verbindungs-spezialisten.de

PRESSEINFORMATION



.../2

4. Thomas Medal

Every year, the Thomas Medal is conferred on a person who has exhibited a crucial commitment to the concerns of IIW or ISO (International Organisation for Standardization). The personality to be distinguished should therefore have initiated international standardisation projects or have played an essential role in their organisation.

5. Heinz Sossenheimer Award

The German delegation to IIW established the Heinz Sossenheimer Award in 2001 in order to thus honour every two years innovative software solutions which are making a decisive contribution to improving the quality and/or safety of applications in the field of joining, cutting or coating in the long term.

6. Walter Edström Medal

With the Walter Edström Medal, IIW honours personalities who have rendered outstanding services to IIW and its work in Walter Edström's spirit. Edström was actively involved in the founding of IIW and was extremely committed to persuading international companies to collaborate in the international IIW bodies and commissions.

7. Arthur Smith Award

This international mark of distinction honours personalities who have been or are dedicated to the work of IIW over a long period and are thus providing considerable support for the international commitment to joining technology. In particular, the collaboration in the IIW commissions plays a role in the presentation of the award.

8. Ugo Guerrera Prize

Every three years, the Ugo Guerrera Prize is conferred on engineers or technicians (optionally on teams too) who are responsible for the invention of devices relating to joining technology. The mark of distinction goes to technical devices which are outstanding as far as the design and the (materials) processing are concerned and are still being used. The next Ugo Guerrera Prize will not be presented until 2013, during the opening ceremony of the International Essen Welding Fair. Therefore, nominations will still be possible until the beginning of February 2011.

You can find more detailed information about the various prizes also on IIW's Internet page at www.iiwelding.org.

Please address your nomination suggestions to DVS:

Rosita Bogdon, telephone: +49.(0)211 1591-103, e-mail: rosita.bogdon@dvs-hg.de.